Image Loading...

The Hoke County Rescue Squad was formed as a project of the Raeford Moose Lodge in 1962.  

The following men were the original and Founding Members of this organization.


February 16, 1962-Billy F. Blake, Governor of Raeford Lodge No. 1809, Loyal Order of Moose, appointed Brother Bobby L. Stanfill Chairman of the Rescue Squad Committee.

This Committee was to operate under the Civic Affairs Committee with Brother Sam Motley as Chairman.

The purpose of these Committees was to explore the possibility of organizing a Rescue Squad to serve the Citizens of Hoke County.

February 21, 1962-Chairman Stanfill reported the Rescue Squad was organized with the following members:

Paul E. Bass

Bobby Blanton

William Cothran

Harold B. Currie

Bartley J. Davis

Jesse Jones

Clyde A. Leach

James C. Lentz

James M. Maxwell

Charlie Pendergrass

Jack Pope

Ralph Stewart

William C. Tanner

Marion L. (Jim) Wade

H.B. Walters

Reuben H. Webb

Also that Mr. E.R. (Red) Brooks would be the instructor for a First Aid class to start on March 1, 1962.

March 21, 1962-Report that Brother James C. Lentz had donated an ambulance to the Rescue Squad. (This ambulance is seen in the picture on the Squad History page.  To the best of everyone's recollection this is a 1958 Packard.  Note the Moose Lodge logo.  In this picture, that is Jim Wade on the far right.)

July 4, 1962-Brother Jim Wade reported that equipment had been secured, members had completed training, and were now ready to operate.

Image Loading...